Recently

It was my birthday.  On Saturday my family took me out to lunch at the Indian buffet of my choice (both my father and my brother were good sports about this – they even sampled a number of things, though not the vegetable dishes, before sticking to rice and chicken curry and ending with the pistachio-almond ice cream).  I fell in love with something that featured large flat beans that looked like lima beans (or so I was told, even though they were yellow – “It’s the SPICES that gives them that colo,” dad said; I remain skeptical), but didn’t taste like lima beans.  They can be so rubbery, and these just fell apart in my mouth when I bit into them.  The spinach and paneer dish did not disappoint, and they had the gulab jamun – those doughy, syrup-soaked balls.

Before leaving, I visited the rest room where I had just enough time to register that they had a space heater that appeared to be drying the damp floor (CAUTION!!!  AVISO!!!) before I noticed my feet sliding apart (too far! too far!) and hit the ground, landing on my thumb.  My THUMB!  I must have landed on some other parts of me, too, but it all happened so fast – the down! the up again! that I don’t remember.  What side did I even fall on?  This baffles me.  It’s my left thumb that hurts if I press on it in a certain way (don’t press on it that way) and it goes a little ouch-numb-all-my-nerves-are-on-fire.  I don’t think that it’s broken.  It’s not swollen either.  I woke up and was stiff this morning – all over stiff, though, so that didn’t provide any extra insight into the sites of impact.  The take-home message is that I don’t recommend this.  Stay upright.

One thought on “Recently

Leave a Reply

