Today and last night

I was updating this from my phone last night using the mobile site, which worked up until a point.  Exiting the keyboard seemed to cause the page to freeze up and the button to post my entries would get lost somewhere on the bottom portion of the screen, which became inaccessible to me.  Drafts could still be saved, so I didn’t lose anything, but it still took much longer than necessary to post.  Also, same issue with my attempts to add categories – page freezes and inability to navigate to the section I needed.  Very frustrating.  I thought perhaps the app had improved since the last time I’d used it, but after reading user comments it doesn’t seem to have evolved.  My next thought was, well, maybe it’s time to jump ship to some other service.  I have a Tumblr I’m not using for anything…  Oh, but the comments on THAT app were as bad if not worse than the WP one.  I’m not sure what user experience is supposed to be the good one – only the actual site?  (I complain about the administrative side of WP all the time, so hmmm…maybe there isn’t one unless you host it yourself and can manage/configure the back end? I rest my case as I try to scroll down in their *new* editor and find that, once again, I CAN’T. Srsly, eff you, WP.)

My tea is ready! I really wanted the chai, but it’s caffeinated. No.no.no.

We did a storytime today for a life skills class. They’re high school aged kids of all different abilities who have some special needs, and they all have personal aides who assist them with various tasks. One of the things they do as a class is take field trips every week to visit different places in the community and learn about them – police station, fire station, library, Costco. They also practice shopping and going out to eat (so they can use money in real life situations). They were headed to Walmart and Culver’s after visiting us. A. and I gave them a tour and then read them a few picture books – I did a rousing impression of “Pout Pout Fish,” and “A Boy and His Bunny” (which is about a boy who wakes up with a bunny on his head). The bunny story was the last one and I had to talk them into it, as A.’s reading of “Memoirs of a Goldfish” went a bit long. “You’re TIRED of stories?” I asked them. “But this one has a bunny in it. And bunnies are my favorite. AND it’s short.” OK, they said, we will listen to the bunny story. They did. Because it was awesome. And I did not lie about it being short.

Because we had storytimes for little kids happening in our program room, we had to do our storytime and craft at the seating area behind the Information Desk. Which means we were pretty much on display for everyone in the library. Instead of angry patrons complaining about the noise, I got a lot of positive feedback from all the adults who witnessed what we did. My coworker, S., sent me an email afterwards and said what we’d done was GREAT, and that we’d really made the kids happy. Which made me feel really great, too. Mostly, I rely on feedback from the kids I work with – because they’re the ones that I see and interact with. Often, my coworkers don’t get to see what I do, which only adds to my Mystique, of course, but also my Invisibility. What DO you DO? Actually, I don’t think anyone questions what I do or THAT I do. I just don’t get a lot of opportunities to show off, so this was nice. I guess I’ve come a ways from being super shy. Also, it’s easier when you have someone working with you – A. and I work pretty well together.

I was reading Jeff’s novel this evening and put it aside for a moment. When I looked back there was his name on the cover and my brain came up with, “Omigod, I KNOW him.” Yes, brain, yes you do. And then I felt a wee bit silly.

It finally feels like spring!

Leave a Reply

