Soupsperiment 4

Soup4_Dal (1)Dal – From “Good & Cheap: Eat Well on $4 a Day,” by Leanne Brown

This recipe came from a book, so I encourage you to check it out at your local library – or, if you can’t get it there, you could either hound them to purchase it or buy a copy for yourself.  I went the library path.

This was delicious and doesn’t have all that many ingredients, so it didn’t take long to make.  The dal cooks really quickly, too, so not like reconstituting dried beans.  I love you, lentils!  I thought it made about 6 servings, though the recipe says 4.  I did end up making a few changes – habanero pepper instead of jalapeño, powdered cumin instead of cumin seeds, and powdered ginger instead of fresh – because I didn’t have some of them, but I think it turned out just fine.  I served it over some sauteed tofu (golden!), and it was wonderful.  I would definitely make this one again AND I could eat it for an entire week.

Leave a Reply

