Soupsperiment 9

Soup9_TurkeyLentil (1)Turkey Vegetable Healing Soup, from the Bewitchin’ Kitchen (recipe here)

I went looking for turkey/lentil soup recipes shortly after Thanksgiving when I got to bring home all the turkey leftovers.  Thanks, family!  Since you’re making the soup/broth from the turkey carcass, it’s kind of up to you how much liquid you want to have/end up with.  And then you adjust your other ingredients accordingly.  So, I went with the spice combination, but used yellow squash instead of corn and green beans (since that’s what I had on hand).  I also added some tomatoes, wild rice, and the leftover stuffing as well as the leftover turkey meat.  I didn’t have any sage (not sure why that’s not part of my spice collection), so I used Italian seasoning instead (same amount).  It turned out quite nicely – I think I only got about 4 servings out of this one, so I was still in the mood for it when it ran out.  Will definitely make again next time I have turkey around (so…next year!).

One thought on “Soupsperiment 9

Leave a Reply

